RANT - this is incredible.

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

moon

Seymore Fuzzbutts
Ok, I'm a teacher. I deal with unmotivated students every day and know how it is. It's a pain in the ***. My son is lazy. I own that. But here is the exchange between me and his AP Comp Sci teacher over the past few weeks. The original email from me was at the end of the first marking period when I saw that he had an "E" in her class and was asking for make up work. I've switched up the order of emails so you can just read from top to bottom:

First email from me:

Ms. Raszewski,
I see that my son, Shane, currently has an "E" in your class. He has told me that he got makeup work from you and will be able to turn it in on Friday in order to bring up his grade.

Response from her:

I talked with Shane about this a few weeks ago. I am very disappointed that he did not make the effort earlier. Puts me in a tight situation to wait until the very last day. He can improve by staying on top of assignments and making a consistent effort each day. I do believe he has the abiltiy and a even a talent for computer science. Consistent effort and attention to detail are needed.

From me:

I'm disappointed too. I know that Shane is essentially lazy when it comes to keeping up with his school work. It's certainly not an issue of not being able to do the work. I appreciate that you are allowing him to make things up so late. Believe me, I know what kind of a hassle late work is. Particularly the work that all comes in on the last day of the marking period.

Thank you again, and I will try to keep on top of him more, but am also trying to make him take responsibility himself, as that's what life is about and he'll have to do so soon enough with everything else.

From her: