Young Chin Color

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kogia

Ok, so I've been looking into adopting a young chin (between 2-3mo) and one person described the kit as the following: "The black ones I guess I would call ebony with some white in the fur, and white on the bottom of the chinchillas." and the parents as "beige and mosaic with some black. ". In the photograph, he looks like a standard...

Thoughts? I'm not an expert on chin colors so I figured I'd ask here.... Also, I'd post the picture, but for some reason there is a shirtless dude holding up the chin in the picture o_O (all you see is chin + nipple... gag!)

At this point, I'm ready to bail...

Sounds kinda like a black velvet. Black on top, white on the bottom, splotchy veiling.

You might be able to photoshop the picture, if you think it's that bad, and make it decent!
From what you're describing, sounds like dark standards, if there's grey between the black and white, but could also be black velvet - depends on if the head is mostly black, and how much.
Look through the 'chins for sale' section, as there's many pictures to compare to!

Everyone has nipples...

What scares me is they don't even know what the color is called. This is an unethical/uneducated breeder, please run. There are plenty of good ethical breeders in NY.

About the chin, unless the white is a TOV white, it can not be a black, probably just a dark standard.

It sounds like a black velvet or a dark standard. Is this a breeder? If so, I would definitely bail. If a "breeder" can't even tell you the correct color of a chinchilla they shouldn't be breeding. If this is a craigslist rehoming/rescue/something else of the sort, then grab the poor chinnie and run.

Last edited:
About the chin, unless the white is a TOV white, it can not be a black, probably just a dark standard.