Pedigree

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I'm new to the Chin breeding thing (still raising young ones and not yet put any pairs together) and I was wondering how the lack of a pedigree would affect a chin, say at show or in her kits quality. My BV female Mandy came from a nice hobby breeder here in FL. She told me the story of how she got mandy's parents and it is as follows in this E-mail from her.
Hi Tori,

I wish I had more info on the four I got from up there in Gainesville and Zues and Helen were two of them. See, they came from a girl in Gainesville who’s father used to breed. They lived down the road from Ralph Shoots all of her life and he and her dad were friends. She says she remembers all of her childhood that her father would go down the road and buy or trade from Shoots and come back home with chins. When she went to college in Gainesville, her father gave her three, two girls and one boy in a short run (my guess is to help her with college spending money). Well, she falls in love and gets married and gets an apartment. Her new husband then loses his job job and they have to rent out the 2nd bedroom to help make the rent. At this point, since she was really never into chins anyway too much (it was her father- she loved kittens growing up on the farm), she gets rid of the chins to me to free up that bedroom for her roommate.

So, at the end of the day, I’m sure that her dad bought from other people too but it sounds like most came from Shoots. So, we really can’t be sure but, to me, I believe from her story that Helen and Zues have Shoots bloodline. But that’s just really a guess. I’ve tried to quiz her and she is not really sure and doesn’t’ really seem to really be driven to find out – other things going on in her life right now. Sweet girl.

Well, that’s the story. What do you think?