Hay - What brand & Where to buy it????

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
L

laura_leigh

ok, so I'm really new at this and want to get it right to start off with. What brand of timothy hay do you use and where do you get it from? My local pet stores only carry Kaytee, which i know isn't the greatest, so I will need to get it online somewhere.

I've seen some people have it for sale on ebay, but I'm kind of nervous about getting it from there since I don't know the quality....

Thanks!

oxbow hay is good. They come in different varieties, oat, western timothy, alfalfa, etc. You should be able to find that at Petsmart.

Jessica

Sorry to ask in this thread, but if I only have one chin, is it better to by hay from petsmart in a small bag - but could possibly be old from sitting on the shelves too long - or a bale of hay from the feed store? It would be fresher but would take her a long time to finish it off...thanks!

Sorry to ask in this thread, but if I only have one chin, is it better to by hay from petsmart in a small bag - but could possibly be old from sitting on the shelves too long - or a bale of hay from the feed store? It would be fresher but would take her a long time to finish it off...thanks!

I was about to ask the same thing as I will only have 2...

You could call the feed store. At the one that I lived by, I could buy a large burlap type bag full of hay for $3. It was large enough to last my 4 chins about 3 months or so. So maybe they allow you to buy a bag full or a portion of the bale.

Man I wish I had your feed stores. :p First a $5 bale and now a $3 bag!

My feed store won't separate bales, unfortunately. The only hay they will give you that's separate is the hay they sweep off the floor which I don't want. Their floors are dirty. I wouldn't eat off them so I don't expect my chins to.