Tim and Rudy my new chin adoptions!

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I just adopted to adorable chins, Rudy and Tim. They are adorable! Tim jumps off the walls and Rudy keeps trying to get out of his cage. This is my first time actually adopting a chin from someone and i can see my self doing it more in the future. I love them like i had them for years. O yea and the boys get along amazingly with my chin Rufus.

Congrats.

Please read about quarantining chinchillas. You should never let new chins have ANY contact with your previous chins for at least 30 days. This means separate cages and separate rooms. Also, just because they are getting along now, doesn't mean they will in the future. Introducing a third chin to an already bonded pair can cause the pair to begin fighting, resulting in 3 single chins.

Now that they have already had contact, quarantine is thrown out the window. Keep a close eye on all of them for any signs of illness. Keep this in mind for the future.

ok i will. but i have had the in the cage all day and have had no issues, no fighting. i havnt let them out of my sight all day, no issues at all.

The issue isn't with them fighting, the new chins could carry an illness and not be showing it, so now you could have infected your chins that you already had. With quarantine it allows the chins to get used to your household and within the 30 days you should be able to find out if they carry any illnesses as most would show up in that time period.