Strange Noises Help?

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
M

manda-panda

At night, when my chinchilla is awake, she will go into her box often and start making this noise. It sounds a lot like barking, but it is more pathetic than that noise. I dont know what to do. Is she hurt? scared? or just doing her warning call?

I would greatly appreciate the help! Thanks guys.

Some chins can be very vocal. I'm guessing it's the "mee mee mee meeee" noise. I heard it was a warning type of call, nothing to be worried about. My chins do it a lot more at night too.

Whew. Thanks. Are you sure? She sounds sad, or scared? Maybe she is just vocal.

I'm a college student (seriously considering a vet career) and I've never had an animal like a chinchilla. They are so fun but I worry so much too! Lol.

I don't recall hearing chins making noises when they are hurt. They are prey animals, so they are very discrete and hide any pain/illness very well.

I've heard 4 different kinds of noises from my chins:

- soft peep-peeping noises when they are let out to play
- kacking when you touch them wrong/bug them/or a cage mate is bugging them
- the mee-mee alarm call sound that I'd bet is what your chin is doing
- the death scream - this loud 'EEEEEEEEEE' I dunno why they do it, they aren't really dying, but it sounds like they are. Everytime I check on them after they do it, they look at me like I've lost my marbles.. so I don't get it, lol.

But it's normal to be over protective. Generally just watch their food intake, water intake, activity level, poops - amount, color, consistency can tell you a lot. Also be sure to check them out once a week for any wounds, hair loss, discharge, or hair ring checks if it's a male.

Last edited:
Lol. Kay, I just came home for spring break and I bet she is just doing it because of the new environment. Thanks! <3