Quality Cage vs. FN

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
C

Chinnies

So after going through the recent FN thread and becoming very jealous of the sweet pads some of these chins inhabit, I've come to a problem.

See, I'm a poor college student currently saving up for two Quality Cage townhouses, as I was under the impression that these were pretty close to as good as you can get. Now, I'm debating if I should go further and buy the FN 142 now. It seems like you can customize the FN so much better and the chins really seem to like them.

I would like to hear the opinions of the members here that have them. I've heard some people saying they have a QC cage and would want a FN now. I'm just wondering what would be the better investment for me and my babies. The FN seems like it would last longer too, with the coating it has.

I would want to remove the middle shelf like I saw in some of the pictures. Is that relatively difficult? How about removing the plastic/wire shelves?

As for the fleece liners, was it difficult to get your chins transferred over to that? One of my chins can't even be on bedding because he eats it all. He has to have the wire grid bottom. They seem like they would be more cost efficient too.

Thanks for any and all help you can give me!

My chins love the fleece liners!!!!! honestly the plasic shelfs in there are find the chins dont seem to mess with it but if you dont want them in there they just pop off

I absolutely love my Ferret Nations and would never use another cage for my chins. There is no extra effort in having the second pan omitted- all you have to do is leave out the wire grid that goes in the middle when you are assembling your FN. Shelves and ladders are no problem either, just leave them out while assembling.