Noob coming through!

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Apollo

Chinnie Noob
Hey guys,

I just got my first chinchilla about 4 days ago, and I spent time next to her cage talking to her, her name is Apollo. How long should I wait till I can start to handle her? If I try to touch her she makes this squeeky noise at me. I'm totally new to all this so I apologize for the noon questions. I am learning so much from this forum and am a bit confused on why you have to use fleece hammocks verses ferret hammocks? She is also a black velvet chin. Im guessing around 4 months old? How can you tell? Thanks in advance!

As far as the hammock goes, the ferret hammocks are made from material with fibers that can unravel and end up getting eaten by your chin and getting stuck in their digestive system and possibly killing them. There's also the possibility of the threads getting wrapped around limbs or even necks.

Fleece isn't made from fibers like that. If a chin chews it, it won't unravel.

welcome to the forum! :wave3:

Apollo may just take some more time to get used to you. spend as much time as you can while she's awake, talking to her, reading her books, and letting her get used to you. put your hand in the cage and let her come to you to investigate on her terms. some chins warm up quickly to their humans, some take longer. my Guss has only been home for 17 days and he's already the biggest sweetheart with me, whereas Rhino, who's been home since February, is still a bit standoffish with me.

the reason we use fleece only hammocks is due to the way fleece is made - it cannot unravel in threads, whereas other fabrics can and pose a hazard if the chin were to eat the threads. the ferret hammocks are not safe at all due to the canvas type material and the nylon straps.