Necropsies

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Linda

I'm going to start a new thread and not invade Sumiko's, and I guess it best fits in this same category.

I'm new at selling chins and would like to know how many people have had someone have a necropsy done on an animal they sold and had the cause of death determined? I know I get shot when I mention the word hamster, but I've had necropsies done on hamsters I know are sick and have serious health problems, and I can't remember a definitive cause of death being determined on any of them. Even when we know a major disease is at play (diabetes, polyoma, etc.), we don't get a cause of death. We get hints like this organ or another is enlarged, but that's not a cause of death.

Is the situation different with chins? Is it reasonable to expect a cause of death from a necropsy? If necropsies in chins often determine cause of death, can good chin vets do those necropsies at their locations or do the animals need to be sent to labs for more advanced necropsies? Those necropsies cost more than the cost of a chin (at least those done on hamsters at labs cost more than the cost of most pet chins).

Lastly, how many people have had a chin die for no apparent reason in their first year or two? You may not have sought out the breeder to notify them (or you were the breeder yourself) and definitely weren't seeking compensation, but I'm assuming it happens in chins.

Linda

I have had 2 necropsies done, one confirmed the cause of death that the cause was already known, one found the cause of death, the the problem had not been diagnosed while the chin was alive.