Hunched back

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Allyson

<-- lexi ("queen pudge")
I took in a 9 month old mosaic female (who I have named Loki) in from Craigslist on September 1st of this year and the girl I got her from had NO idea how to take care of a chinchilla... granted I am still learning, but she had Loki housed on cedar shavings, never gave her dust baths but gave her REAL baths with water instead, and was fed bad pellets. She had one of those hay houses/baskets for hay but that was it, and she was kept in a small cage, a size that seemed to be suited for hamsters.

I noticed Loki was very thin when I got her and had a hunched back, but showed no signs of sickness and she was overly curious during playtime like any chinchilla. Since then she has gained weight, but she still has that hunch in her back (as in, I can FEEL the hunch there, and not just when she sits sometimes). Loki is approx. 11 months now.

I did a little searching over the forums and read it could be malocclusion? How long does this take to develop? I have had her a little more than 2 months and like I said, she has gained some weight and not lost any. I think I also read in another post it can be caused due to poor diet at an early age which would definitely describe poor Loki's food, but was kind of hoping this could be clarified?

She is living with a roommate, she used to chew everything like her fleece to high heaven until she had one, and now she seems to have stopped. Should I remove Link from Loki??

Also, I was wondering if there are any other health issues that can/may cause this... thank you.

A hunched back can happen from poor nutrition. What type of feed are you using?