Chinchilla wheel and harness questions

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chikachulove

Hi fellow chinchilla loves!
I am going to be a new chinchilla owner and am trying to get everything ready for chikachu. I have been trying to find the wheel that is the best for its cost as I am a college student and have a small budget. It seems like so far the solver surfer wheel has great reviews but I wanted to know whether anyone has used wheels they no longer need.

Also on another note, I have heard some mixed reviews about using harnesses for chinchillas because of their dense fur but I was wondering whether anyone ha had experience.

I'd really appreciate all the advice I can get!

The wheels you have to choose from are the Silver Surfer, ChinSpin, Flying Saucer, and the Ed or Leo Braun Wheel.

Because of their delicate floating ribcages, harnesses should NEVER be used on chinchillas.

I would also like to mention that chinchillas 'hop' like rabbits rather than run like ferrets. Any kind of leash/harness would not only be dangerous but would limit their natural movement. This is also one of the reason not to use the large plastic balls sold for chinchillas. They overheat in them, pee in them, and can't hop like they normally would.

I would also like to mention that chinchillas 'hop' like rabbits rather than run like ferrets. Any kind of leash/harness would not only be dangerous but would limit their natural movement.

While I would never use a harness on a chin, harnesses can be used on rabbits no problem. Just because you have a harness and leash doesn't mean your yanking on them all the time and usually there really isn't much pressure at all, so it hinders nothing.

But again, don't use a harness on a chin.