strange discharge??

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Srlampron

poop hunter/gatherer
Hello,

I recently made fleece liners for my chin's cage. I was told when I adopted her that she is 4 yrs old. The last few days she has been very moody, been making her "I'm annoyed at you" noises and peed on me. So, I've been giving her some space.

Tonight, when I went to clean her cage, I found a very strange "substance" on her fleece. It is pale yellow, opaque, and smells. I know she can't vomit, but it reminds me of cat vomit. Kind of mucous-like but it has dried. This is not her normal urine.

I am hoping that as a rookie, I am just seeing my Lilly in heat for the first time. I have read about uterine infections, kidney and bladder stones.....I'm sufficiently terrified. Can someone help me out? I am getting worried. I thought she was PO'd because I let my Sister-in-law hold her when we had a cookout this past weekend. If she is actually sick, I don't know what I'm going to do. Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_1433.jpg
    IMG_1433.jpg
    94.2 KB · Views: 58
  • IMG_1411.jpg
    IMG_1411.jpg
    94.7 KB · Views: 47
Discharge can be cause by being in heat. However its normally clear, sometimes goowie but no odor. If there is an odor and have color it can be caused by an infection from minor to deadly. How long have you been seeing this? If over 24 hours and no improvement you need to bring her to the vet asap.

Any discharge that smells could mean infection and frankly the second picture the chinchilla looks very ill, chin IMO needs a vet visit ASAP.

So if it has only happened this once, should I assume she went into heat and is ok? She seems to have perked up and is in much better spirits last night and this morning before she went to sleep. She is more like my old Lilly Belle than she has been since Sunday.