Rescue breeding pair ? Advice please!!

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lilanniesmommy

I am seriously thinking about rescuing a breeding pair off of craigslist, but I am a newbie, (I've had Annie now for 3 months). The pair on cl already bred and she is pregnant. I want to rescue but I am scared to death that if I get them something may go wrong. Should I seperate the dad right away, or leave him in until she has the kits? Then when I take him out after she had them should I even put him back in? I am so confused, but I want to make sure they go to a good home. This is moms 3rd litter. Any advice would be great.

:bump1: Right now I dont know anything about them. Dont know what kind of food or if they are doing something for her. The people are moving and cant take them.

If you're that new to having chins, its probably not a good idea. If you decide to get them however, I'd separate the male now and keep the female by herself. You'll have to be ready to get multiple cages, depending on the kits' sex, etc.