Others doing your grooming?

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tati121

I will be trying to attend the York show in April and I want to show Watson just to see how the whole process works first-hand. Since he's my first chin and I have no showing experience, I neither know how to groom nor have any combs of my own. Is it a big no-no to ask and pay someone to groom your chin for you? I mean, it's not like you're helping the competition since Watson's just a lovely little pet-store chin.

Yay, nay?

You can ask someone to groom for you, or the best thing would be to ask for someone to show you, then loan you some combs. Many people have enough grooming to do without adding another, lol. Also show prepping will make a huge difference, make sure you do it. If you can find anyone around you to show you how to comb and stuff before, it will also make a difference.

I am a terrible groomer and have had people help me many times. My plan it to win the lottery, buy a huge motor home and hire a driver/groomer! Then I'll attend shows all over the country!

Jan Ryerson is almost always willing to help. If Dave Woods (the judge) sees a chin that hasn't been groomed right on his 'show table' he often says 'go to Jan she will show you how'

I should have added that I am willing to help others groom at shows as well. I think I have helped Becky several times.
I think one year at Nationals, I helped three or four other people, including grooming my own chins. However, if I have brought many chins of my own, I am not so willing to help. lol
And if the chins I groom do better than my own, I may not be as willing to help again. ;) JK!!

Brenda is a great groomer Becky and would do you well, she pre-groomed the Grandshow at the Michigan show the night before.