Larval Migrans in Chins

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

qtpie61282

I'm a vet tech so I have some knowledge of larval migrans, but no experience with them in chins.
I just got an email from someone who bought a chin from me 3 years ago who recently took in a baby from a "friend of a friend" who had a litter and couldn't care for them.
She got the chin at 8 weeks old, it got his leg stuck in the wires of a cage, was limping. Took it to the vet, the leg was fine and they realized he wasn't using any of his legs well, stumbling a lot and had a head tilt.

The vet looked into things further and thought Neural Larval Migrans might be the reason.

Now, this I am sure is transmittable from chin to chin, as well as to human possibly. She has been handling both chins, they are in the same room, not same cage though, but sure poop has been flung from cage to cage.

She is worried about the older chin now in case he has been exposed to it. She had fecal samples tested but wont hear until Monday.

I just wanted to get opinions from everyone maybe if you have had any experience with this, if your chin was ever on treatment for it, or was diagnosed with it, and what the outcome was.

Thanks in advance :)

Oh Jen...that sounds awful! I've never had a chin with anything like that that I know of and I have never heard of such a thing. I hope they can figure out what is wrong.

It just seems like such obscure diagnosis, almost like the chin must have been playing with field mice or something wild. This type of thing is contagious, as you know. I'd probably just chalk it up to maybe a head or spinal cord injury, but I guess this lady will find out soon enough.

Inner ear infection left untreated would cause neurological symptoms, especially the head tilt.

I thought of ear issues too, so Ill mention that to her so she can tell her vet.