I am freaking out. Dog bit chinchilla

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I am new to chinchillas and haven't researched much on anatomy, but I was holding my chin and my dog ran up and grabbed the tip of his tail. He pulled it of off. It was about a quarter of an inch of the bone. He seems fine. He bled a little, but is acting okay. Shoud I take him to the vet or medicate him? We aren't sure what to do at all. Please help.

How would you medicate him without taking him to the vet?

Since a dog's mouth is disgustingly dirty, I would definitely get to a vet. He can make sure the wound is closed, healing well, and provide antibiotics. In the future, I would make sure your dog was never allowed in any room where your chin is and I'd be darn sure that that chin never escaped it's cage. A dog that will run up and attack an animal while it's in its owners arms would not hesitate to kill it if he found it loose.

I agree, take that chin to the vet. With a bite from another animal you have a lot of harmful bacteria in that wound. Unless you are a vet yourself or have very extensive experience with chinchilla wounds, it wouldn't be wise to medicate the chin yourself.

As the for the injury, this is a very common thing to happen when the end of a chin's tail is bitten or it gets pulled very hard. Bone was exposed so you may have to have surgery done to fix it.

Please listen to these experienced women and go to the vet!!!

Don't just stand there wringing your hands and thinking..."Well, it might be OK, I'll just wait and see". If you lost the tip of YOUR finger or toe or had a big cut, you'd be on the way to the ER, so get moving!!!

oh ouch poor chin !