How do you slim down a hog?

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Courtney

... and the Dynamic Duo!
I've been working with Kismet for a few months to help her slim down. She's about 550 grams, with what appears to be little fat pockets starting at the tops of her legs. I don't know if she can curl into a complete ball because she's not the type. She hasn't curled into a ball for something like a year and a half,and nothing I do can make her curl into a ball. She just doesn't get scared if I'm around. She eats Natural Balance Limited Ingredient cat food - 12% fat. This is the only food I've found that doesn't cause bright green poop or vomit - she has a very sensitive stomach. The thing is, she's not a big eater. Most nights, she eats maybe 25 kibbles.

The problem is, she prefers not to wheel. If I scatter her kibble around, she'd just rather not eat. To put it shortly, she can be pretty lazy. She likes to run around on the floor, but it doesn't seem to help her too much. Just tonight, she figured out the virtues of tubing - she spent a good half hour pushing the tube around, playing with it and wearing it.

The strange thing is, she's also very active a lot of the time. She's a climber, and she does her best to climb anything in her way. Just tonight, she tried to climb up the hollow inside of the table.

Is there something I can do? Do some hedgehogs just have a bit of extra skin around the tops of their legs without being overweight? Is she just big boned? The vet has never said anything about her weight and he says she's very healthy... I just got concerned when I saw the extra skin/fat around her legs.

How does she do with bath time? I would add a swim to her routine. If that's not possible reduce her food intake or mealies.