Hi! I'm hoping to learn more about Chins!

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I am new here. I am also new to Chinchillas! I have fallen in love with Chinchillas! I recently got my first chin from a local petshop. I was told he is 6 yrs old, & that his previous family was moving and couldn't keep him anymore. He is sooo sweet! I am wanting to get him a buddy since they are colony animals. I need advice on how to go about adding a buddy. Will two males get along? Since my boy chin is 6 yrs old what is the best age of the new chin so they'd have the best chance of getting along? Do I need to get a new weaned baby? Do I need to stay under a certain age w the new one? I love looking at all the baby chin pics, but don't feel that I am ready to breed so I believe adding a male buddy would be best. Any and all advice will be greatly appreciated!!! Thank you!! :)

Welcome to CnH. :)

If your boy has been alone his entire life, I doubt he's all that lonely without a buddy. At 6, he may have established himself as a loner. If you want to try and introduce him to another male, then you would be better off finding a younger male. Keep in mind though, there is no guarantee that they will get along, or even if they do get along, that they will keep being friends a couple months down the road. You will always need to keep a second cage on hand just in case you need to separate.

There is an intro thread under the forum FAQs that explains pretty much all the different methods that people use. Give that a read and see if there is anything in there that might work for you.

Hi and Welcome. This was my first forum too when i fell in love with chinchillas 7 yrs ago, well it was call Chins and Quills back then, i have learnt so much here, so yea, welcome to the forum and enjoy the world of messy chins :)