Excited new chin owner, few questions

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brstin2flames

Hi, I am new to the world of Chinchillas and recently purchased my little guy named Sketch over the weekend. I have a few new owner questions as I want to be sure I am provided my buddy with the best care I can!

First, I currently have Planet Petco Crumbled Paper bedding in his cage. This is what the employee at Petco recommended to me and what they use in their Chins cages, but I know sometimes Petco employees can be clueless. Is this an ok bedding for him? I did notice last night he seemed to be grabbing bedding pieces and nibbling on them. Is this safe?! Is there something better I should switch to?

Second, I'm concerned my chin isn't drinking. I marked the bottle with a piece of tape and it just didn't seem to be going down at all the first 4 days I had him. I revisited Petco to see the type of bottle they used and noticed the bottle was mounted inside the cage so I switched my mount inside. Luckily this morning it looks like he may have taken a few sips. Should I be worried?

Lastly, when I spend time next to his cage to get him used to me I've noticed him making light peeping sounds similar to a guinea pig. I'm hoping this is a happy noise! Any help you guys can provide would be amazing. Thanks so much!

The bedding is fine. I find the other brands besides carefresh to be rather dusty though. It's also a clumpy, heavy dust and it's caused some of my animals to get runny noses from irritation.

The water problem may just be he didn't know how to find the bottle with it outside the cage. It's more noticeable inside. I've also had several not drink or eat much for the first few days until they've settled in and then everything suddenly goes down a lot to make up for it.