Bugs on my zucchini

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tiatrack

I know there are some great plant people on here. I'm hoping you can tell me what these bugs are on my zucchini plant. They are tiny and green, but they look like they are starting to kill my plant :( It is on a second story balcony, so I have no idea what they are. This is my first try at growing on my patio, and I don't want the bugs to eat my plants! Any ideas what they are and how I can get rid of them? Thanks!

ETA: the pic with the brown leaf looks like the hatchling shells of whatever these bugs are.

Attachments

• IMG_0008.jpg
    IMG_0008.jpg
    57 KB · Views: 84
  • IMG_0009.jpg
    IMG_0009.jpg
    76.7 KB · Views: 87
  • IMG_0010.jpg
    IMG_0010.jpg
    52.4 KB · Views: 79
Im not really a bug or plant person but first thing that comes to my mind are aphids.. and ladybugs eat aphids. A natural and lucky solution! LOL, I love ladybugs...

I was thinking that too since my parents have roses that get aphids, but my Google search didn't turn up anything that said aphids eat zucchini. They are a ton smaller than the aphids I have seen before. :hmm:

They look like aphids to me too, I have no real experience with plants, but I had similar looking bugs on my tiny strawberry plant a couple years back and they killed the little plant.

Aphids. They'll go after tomatoes, peppers, zuccini... anything with big juicy leaves. Aphids is to plant as fleas is to dog, to speak SAT for a moment. They essentially drain the good stuff out of it and can kill whole farm fields if they're not contained.

I'd go to your local garden store and ask for a small container of lady bugs. Turn them loose in your neighborhood and your aphids (and most of your neighbors aphids) will be Nom noms. :)