Breeding Chinchillas

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

D.Who

Hi, I am wanting to begin breeding Chinchillas, I have been researching for nearly 4 years about it, and know a fair amount, I just have some general questions, I would like to ask, and of course any advice is welcomed!
I have 6 Chins I am going to be putting into breeding, some breeders say 8 months, and others up to a year, I am thinking personally I would like to wait till they are between 11 months to a year depending on the weight on the chins!
These 6 all have their pedigrees and come from good lines.
the pairs would be a Homo Beige male to a standard female
a Dark Ebony Male to a Hetero Beige Female
and a Pink White male to a Medium Tan Female
(Ebony and Tan are cousins and Beige are siblings, so please no pairing suggestions that involves pairing them!)
I know that vet fees can be outrageous for them, and am fully prepared, as I do also have three neutered males that are rescues, that are becoming old men already. (22, 19 and 19)
I already have a supply of condensed goat milk and droppers, and my cages are already baby safe, (I have three extra cages to the side for when kits are coming for the daddies to stay in, so mommy gets her time with kits and isnt over worked)
Any help is welcomed! (including constructive critism)

Since you are new to breeding (though not new to chins) have you had your chins evaluated by someone who is experienced with the qualities that are desirable when you breed chins? They can also help you with pairing them up. For instance, if one of your chins is a bit pinched in the neck, they might tell you to put them with a blockier chin. If one has a bit weaker fur, they might tell you to put them with a really good strong furred standard.