Anyone out there have chickens??

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beanjelly

kayak queen...
I'm pretty excited. We've been given the "go" to keep a few chickens at our house! (I live on-site at a summer camp) There's an old quonset hut in the backyard that actually used to be a chicken coop, so we're repairing the stuff that's in there and closing off a window that's been opened so they have a secure coop.

We've decided to get 3 or 4 hens, and a rooster. I think we're getting Buff Orpingtons. We're naming the rooster Murphy and one of the hens Dolly after the couple who lived in our home years ago who kept chickens.

Whatever eggs we can't/don't eat will be given to coworkers and maybe used in the kitchen at camp.

Does anyone have any advice or words of wisdom?? I've never done anything like this before...we've only ever had inside pets--no outside, farm-type animals!

I have 4 chickens...2 of which are Buff Orpingtons. I tell you, I love those Buffs. They are actually really docile and as long as it's not freezing out side, they lay about 1 egg a day.

The only suggestion that I would have would be that if you don't want babies, that maybe you shouldn't get a rooster.

Have fun with them :)

As long as you collect the eggs daily you won't have to worry about babies, but fertilized eggs gross some people out. You need to collect daily so they are fresh!

Make sure you have nesting boxes for them. Once chickens learn where their roost is you can let them out during the day and they will go back in before night fall, or you can have an enclosed pen. We just moved an old building that we're re-doing for our hen house. We should have the pen almost all done today. When it's done I'll post some pics!