What do you suggest?

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
L

Lovette's Kara

I am not really a new chinchilla owner. I have had chinchillas in the past, but it has been a while since I had a chinchilla before Tobi... about 5+ years and it feels all new to me again. I was given Tobi, a 3 month old male (at the time, which was in October) ebony for an early Christmas Present. I wasn't too sure if I was ready after my last chinchilla passed away from seizures and I never found out why. I am also a nursing student and it can be very time consuming, plus I work part time as well. And unlike my cats who can force me to stop and give them attention (sitting on the textbook I am reading always works), I felt that a chinchilla may not be as forceful. But I feel Tobi is doing well, I give him attention and he is spoiled rotten according to my mother. He has more treats and toys than even my cats do. Currently he's on Oxbow pellets and hay as well. Though, I just moved and I haven't been able to chin proof my apartment for him to come out and play. Tobi is about 10 months old now and doing well, but I feel really guilty because I don't feel I give him enough attention and that he may be lonely. I was playing some communication recordings of chinchillas because he started barking in his sleep the other day and I was asking my mother if it was normal, and he started making communication noises at the noises on the communication recording. I kinda feel that he might be lonely for companionship of other chinchillas most of all.