Water bottles, treats and shelves?

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Ive had Bella for two years now, and Im just beginning to realize how much I DONT know. Since Im adopting chinchilla kit in several weeks (already picked her out, waiting for her to be weaned) I figure I need to know:

1) Are plastic water bottles bad? Some people keep saying that glass would be better. I keep mine on the outside of the cage so she cant chew it and we've never had a problem.

2) Treats! What's safe?

3) Our cage is a four level ferret nation cage with plastic shelves. She's never chewed them, and I clean the cage out once a week, complete with disinfecting the urine spots. Is it still bad to have plastic shelves?

4) Is scented dust bath bad for a chin?

5) I have dogs, and I don't let Bella out with them because my mother's dog wants to chase her. Most of the time, I just take her into my bathroom and let her have run-about time there with me sitting on the floor. Is that okay to just let her have a an hour or so in there?

Any other advice would be great! Especially about kits!

1) Are plastic water bottles bad? Some people keep saying that glass would be better. I keep mine on the outside of the cage so she cant chew it and we've never had a problem.
If she has no access to the plastic, it should be fine.

2) Treats! What's safe?
Rose hips, an occasional cheerio. No fruits, veggies, nuts/seeds, etc

3) Our cage is a four level ferret nation cage with plastic shelves. She's never chewed them, and I clean the cage out once a week, complete with disinfecting the urine spots. Is it still bad to have plastic shelves?
Yes, your chin will eventually chew on them. Are you disinfecting with water and vinegar, or a cleaner?

Probably. You should only use blue cloud dust