Vaginal Bleeding

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CalicoPrairie

I'm just learning how to do head-to-toe checkups on my chins and I've just discovered that one of my girls is bleeding from her vagina. I noticed it a couple of days ago, but the blood was dry so I cleaned her off and figured I'd watch her for a few days. Today, the blood was fresh. She doesn't seem to be an different than usual, but she has been timid since I adopted her (mid-July). She is eating and playing fine and basically just being herself.

I have read that the only reasons they would bleed would be due to mating or giving birth (or miscarrying), or if there is some internal thing wrong. There has been no breeding going on here, and I don't believe there was before she came to live with me.

I'm planning on taking her into the vet this week, but I thought I would see if anyone here as ever dealt with this and what kind of questions I should be asking at the vet. Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
Looking into pyometra and metritis and neither seem like this is what I'm dealing with. Since this girl didn't just deliver babies and there is no inflammation or redness that I can see, I'm leaning toward perhaps a case of dehydration. I've checked out her tray and I don't see any dark urine from the past couple of days, which isn't promising--but I don't see any blood either. I have changed her tray and added fresh pine so I can keep watching, and in case this is a dehydration issue, I have added a second (different style) of water dispenser to her cage, both marked with dry erase markers so I can track how much water is being taken in.

Is there anything else I can be doing until we can see the vet?