Post Surgery Anorexia

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Coopstar

First off, I just found this forum and have to say that I am super excited! It could not be more perfect!!

Now I could use some help. Alot of information, ill try to keep it minimal. I adopted my first chin 2 years ago, a male i named Orion. About a month ago, I was approached to take in 2 rescue females, and have welcomed them into my home. Orion has always been lonely, I have been wanting to get him a friend for some time.
I am a vet tech at a spay neuter clinic, and decided the best thing for him was neutering in hopes of working with them all to build a friendship in the future. I did all the research and was well prepared. He was neutered on May 29th. It has been a roller coaster ever since. He has not eaten on his own since. He's taken a few tiny nibbles of hay from time to time. Not even drinking water.

2 weeks ago he made his water bottle leak and sat in the water all day while i was at work. His incisions became severely infected after that. He has had many trips to the veterinarian i work for and his regular veterinarian who i used to work for. we began with SMZ-TMP antibiotics, they helped, and switched to Baytril this week, and now his incisions are nearly all healed up. Ive also been flushing the area twice a day.

Yesterday he had another check up, he still has a large bump on one side, but it is just scar tissue. His teeth are also not overgrown yet, but right on the edge. I got the go ahead to finally put him back into his old cage, as oppose to his small non jumping recovery cage. He seemed happy, even doing his "happy hop" a little bit. But still no eating or drinking.