Petsmart products??

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Do you enjoy fleece?

• Total voters

cherie18

Hi guys, my name is Ranessa I'm new to being a chin owner-I actually am picking up my new chinchilla, Cherie(pronounced Churry) on Sunday if all goes well-ANyways I've been doing as much research possible so I don't screw it up, but I went to petsmart the other day just to see what they had & I saw cute little tikki looking houses names snak shaks for small animals. I wanted to know if these houses are safe or not?

I asked one person on youtube, but I want a second opinion because i'm not sure they are correct.
So if ya'l know anything about it please let me know!!

PS: if I can't shop at Petsmart what can I do? Because it is the only store that really sells anything for chinchillas here...:hair:

The snack shaks are not safe for chins. They are meant to be eaten and they have quite a bit of sugar in them, which is not good for chins.

Most people buy their chinchilla items online. We have many vendors here who make awesome and safe things for chins.

Snack shacks, or those edible huts, are not rly safe for them. My boy had one for a long while before i found that out. It did give him digestive problems. So i would advise against it.

A lot of supply stuff you can get online. Probably at a higher quanity and/or cheaper price. Theirs a few vendors on this site.

Honestly the only thing i get at petsmart for my chins is the Aspen litter and Timothy hay. Petsmart (and most pet stores) are interested in one thing. Money: making a sale. They usaly no nothing about the pets or jsut rambel on to make it sound like they do. They also sell tons of products that are not safe for chins. (Edible huts, death balls, snacks, foods)