new chin not getting along W/ others plus behavior changes in the old ones

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mjricha

Hello, I would just like to say that I have been a member for quite a while but I switched emails recently and couldn't get my password reset due to this, and had to make a new account, so I'm not a newbie lol.

I have three chins that I purchased about a year apart between each of them, so I'm no stranger to introductions. They are (were) all bonded perfectly fine, and I used several methods to bond them which worked quite well (neutral zone + cage within a cage) for them.

Now fast forward about 2.5 years later, and I my gf finds a craigslist ad for a chinchilla and she wants to rescue it instead of letting someone who doesn't know anything about them to get her. She is about a year old (the others range from 2.5 to 4 yrs), and was actually very well taken care of. Good food, nice cage, handled very regularly, etc. She was placed in quarantine for about 3 1/2 weeks, and then i placed her small cage out of bite distance from the big cage which houses the other three. just to make it quick here's what else I did in order

1 st week - cages out of bite distance
3rd week - cages closer (so they could nose touch), and short stints of neutral zone
-some fighting and pee, but nothing major
5th week - Cage within cage + litter swapping + longer times in NZ
7th week - cages completely touching + everything else