My first chinchilla...

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Euphoric

So first off, my name is Myia. I have been caring for exotics for quite some time, but my first love is for reptiles!
However, I love small animals too.
I have 5 hamsters (1 syrian, 2 campbell dwarfs, 2 winter white dwarfs)

I used to work at various pet stores, I am a certified vet tech, and I am going to school for exotic research.

Well, I obviously got a chinchilla! I got a white mosaic, and I absolutely adore him as for the 24 hours I have had them!

Background info...well this may be bad. I did buy him on total impulse. You see, I also rehabilitate/therapy work with exotics, and although I never had a chin before I had degus (mini chins as they are called) as a rescue and rehab and I totally disliked them.
Well, I hope my male is different than the degus.
I do figure
1. Chins are waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay cuter
2. The degus weren't friendly, and though it can be hard to get him out of the cage, he does hold well even though he fidigts (One of the best pet store chins handable wise)
I did not walk into this blindly, I do have basic knowledge and care information. I am on the board so I can better my chins life!
I know impulse is never good, but I swear he will have a good forever home!

Well, I bought him the super pet three story cage...its a nice cage, I took out the tubing and only left the (Solid) ramp and little "slide" of sorts.
He has a dust bath, a large hiding area. I am pretty sure this is a good cage for him. He also have TONS of toys.

Second, I feed mazuri too my hamsters, so obviously i will feed them for my chin (In chin brand of course)

Well, I have a lot of questions

1. Do i feed alfalfa or timothy hay or both?
2. Where can I buy the a better dust besides the super pet stuff I have?