Long time lurker, finally a member. :-)

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ShannonLee

Chinny Slave
I've been perusing these forums for a few months now, and finally decided to become a member. My name is Shannon, and I am a 22 year old psychology graduate living on the east coast of Florida. The story of how I ended up with my furry children is somewhat interesting...

There is a pet store in my hometown that I visited as a child, and they were known for carrying very exotic animals, like sloths, lemurs, various monkeys... And when you're 10 years old, that seems pretty cool! But as I got older, I realized that was pretty messed up, especially when I heard that they don't check for proper licensing for exotics or care for many of the animals properly. In December of 2009, I somehow ended up visiting the shop with a friend of mine. We were wandering around the small animal section, when I noticed a grey ball of fur in a 17*17 inch cage. There were no houses, toys, or chews in the enclosure, and it was about 90 degrees in the store (that's Florida in December...).
I asked one of the staff members about the animal, and she explained it was a chinchilla. She knew nothing else about it, except that she was instructed to give it a dust bath every TWO months. The animal did not look good, and I could not leave her there. So that's how I ended up with Leeloo, a hetero beige with very spotted ears.
19151_1336711856605_4854318_n.jpg

So I bought Leeloo the biggest cage I could find (love my FN double unit!), tons of toys, made shelving and all kinds of stuff! She is fairly antisocial, but she loves belly scritchies.