I just rescued a hedgehog?

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
R

Robotzik

Hey
I sometimes rescue chins and place them into foster homes, got two of my own... but I found this baby hedgehog at this shelter and he was so terrified my heart was breaking. Somebody dumped him over night in a park and he almost froze to death, BC nights can get chilly as ****, specially for a tropical specie
So I bought him a cage, brought him home...
(I've been researching about hedgehogs for about 2 years now, I've always wanted one)
and the poor fella is freaked out ****less.
Now... I know he will come to, I've only had him for about 4 days which is not a lot but...
he is so scared of the world around him it makes me wanna cry. First of all, if I'll ever find the owners, and I'm kinda working on it, I know I can't do much exept give them a piece of my mind but oh I will give them a piece of mind. But not the point. The point is... has anybody ever seen a hedgie scared of every little noise and thing and any advice? And what do you guys think those assholes did to him for him to be so skittish? (or her, too freaked out to see)
His/her name is Cactus, and yeah, any thoughts are welcome
Cheers
Muffin

have you been handling it? yes she may be scared, but thats the only way for her to learn that you arent going to hurt her. I say just spoil her as much as you can since you'll have a lot of making up to do for the loser people shes accustomed to. Congrats to you both for finding eachother.