Degus

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jaina_Organasolo

So does anyone keep Degus or know where I can get more info on them (Good info!). I am considering getting some.

To explain, my other half suggested we get some instead of more Chinchillas when my two Malo boys pass on ( Ted has confirmed root elongation and Bill has suspected elongation). He says I shouldn't get anymore Chins as Im clearly cursed. I've been keeping Chins for almost 5 years, in that time I've owned 6. Im down to 3. My first pair, Leroy died of stasis, having been x-rayed for eye issues and it caused him to stop eating. He died of stasis after having been put under 3 times in a week. He was 2. Stitch his cagemate was PTS aged 2 1/2 with root elongation. Lucky recently got a URI, broke a tooth and died of possible stasis aged 4. I have Bill, Ted and Spooky left. So Spook is my only healthy one left.

He's heartbroken and doesn't want more. He's suggested Degus as an alternative so I said Id look into it. Personally I don't think they are much of a substitute. But hey.

I was doing research on degus the other day, and there doesn't seem to be much information on them out there. I just know that they live 9-13 years and take dust baths. They're very social, but I don't know that they bond to humans as much as chinchillas do (but I could be wrong about that).

They seem like interesting pets! I'll be interested to hear what other people have to say about them.

Degus are no substitute for chins. They can be friendly but boy are they dirty and they take great pride in peeing for distance outside of the cage.

Where have your chins come from? Perhaps get some from a different/better breeder.

Degus can be sociable with their humas, but as with chins, it takes time.

The love to borrow under their shavings.