Cage opinions? (picture)

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LeoMonster

Hey guys.

I've been stalking craigslist for a couple of months looking for a ferret nation for Leo for over the summer. I found one and the woman just sent me a picture.

Could you guys tell me if it looks like its in good shape or not. I've never actually seen one in person so I would like your opinions.

ferretw.jpg

EDIT: Sorry guys, I resized the picture once I saw it was gigantic!

Last edited:
Saffron: Sorry! you probably clicked the thread as I was editing because the picture was huge. Should be fixed!

It looks pretty good to me. The condition of the shelf and ladder aren't any concern, because you won't be needing those (unless you plan on covering them with fleece... and if so, they'll be under the fleece and inaccessible). From what I can tell, the pan looks alright, no huge white urine marks on it or anything. I personally use bass pans for my FN's so if you're the same way, that wouldn't be a concern for you either.

As for the rest of the cage - the coating on the cage makes it so that you can literally hose down the cage (ok, maybe not in 20 degree weather) and scrub and everything will come off. That's what I like so much about the FN cages, they are easy to clean and sanitize because it's not bare metal.

Alright, although I literally just found a two story ferret nation cage that got posted today. I'm debating between a one story and a two story. Considering I only have 1 chinchilla, I'm not sure if a two story is necessary.

I'd personally go with the two-story if you can afford it. It may not be "necessary" per se, but I know for us, we like to spoil our chins, and there's more room to do so with a two-story.