Best food

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Smoogy

Hello!

I am wondering what would be the best food for a baby hedgehog to get use to. I have very little experience with feeding them, I had rescued one last year, and I put him on Chicken Soup for Cat Light, but I am not sure if that is the best to give him...What ar eyour suggestions? I am in Alberta, Canada...

Thanks!!

I'm not sure that there's a single best food for hedgies... though, depending on how young he is, you'll want to look for something small like Royal Canin Kitten - they're a bunch of tiny x's... very baby friendly.

Beyond that, most people tend to use a combination of a couple/a few different high quality cat kibbles - Chicken Soup for the Cat Lover's Soul light works wonderfully for a number of hedgies. It's among my girl's favorite kibble. A few others I can think of off the top of my head are: Wellness light or indoor cat, Felidae, Solid Gold Katz-n-Flocken...

How old is your baby?

Thanks you smhufflepuff!

My baby is as now... unborn! The litter is due any time now (breeder tells me she started last night making her nest with sawdust! :D). I will be fetching it in Montana when they reach 8 weeks I believe.

So, if I start it off on Royal Canin Kitten, how long should I keep it on the small kibble? Only a few weeks? A few months? A year?

And then, if I then, when the time is right, wean it off the Royal Canin Kitten and put it on CSftCL Soul light,and keep it on that for the rest of it's long (lets hope!!) life, it will be a good choice?? I know CSftCL Soul is available very close to me. Wellness I might have to order through the store, and I haven't heard of the others - maybe they are not available in my area...