Average time spend with chin a day

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
H

harlowquin

Since I am a newbie I thought I would go ahead and ask this question. How much time do you spend a day with your chin. I haven't even had ours a weekend and I am trying to leave her alone a bit to get comfortable with her new space. I sit and talk to her and just watch her for now. But I am wondering how much time you guys spend with yours. I see so many videos on utube of chins that are very friendly and come to the cage door to be let out. I do work 5 days a week so she will be alone for around 9 hours a day. We also have her in the finished basement for now, as it is so cool there. We have a dehumidifer running at all times. I just want the best for this adorable little wonder.

Felix's cage is in our living room so we are always around him. He gets scratchies and talked to all evening. I only take him out for about 20-30mins a day because he's still a baby and I don't want him to get tired.

Last edited:
I let mine out for up to an hour, usually once every 2 days but sometimes they'll get out on consecutive nights if I'm not busy.

I think it depends on the chin how much of your time they need. Mine are a little jumpy and wary of people. They seem to prefer to do their own thing than to have us interfering all the time, but they still get attention every day when we walk past the cage. I'm trying to make them a bit 'tamer', so I'll go up to them just for 5-10 minutes a few times a day, put my hands in the cage and just get them used to me being around. Then they'll get the playtime and sandbaths on top of that.