Any tips?

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hey guys!! I'm new to chin breeding and I need tips. I just bought a breeding pair. The female (Aya) is a 9 month old dark ebony and the male (Meo) is an 8 month old white ebony.

Hannah, there is a lot of good information on this section in the stickies. Please be sure to read that first.

Additionally, be sure to plan to attend upcoming shows (I know there is an Empress show in Ohio in January and they are talking about holding an MCBA show in Ohio in February).

There are a lot of questions you need to be asking yourself - what are your goals for breeding? Do you know what a quality chin looks like? Are you prepared with financial backup and a good chin vet in the event of an emergency? Do you know how to hand feed in the event that kits need it?

Hopefully you have a good, knowledgeable mentor who has helped you answer those questions already. If not, find one. :)