Seizing, Drollingk, and Pawing at mouth! HELP!

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ErinsChins

Im on my way to the vet now as my delilah had a seizure and isd rooling and pawing at her mouth. I am going to a new vet that i've never met and idk what to expect. Please if you know what I should ask, my number is on my website, please text me or PM me here as that will go to my email and my phone updates automatically. Im on my way now

If this vet doesn't have a lot of chin experience can you get a hold of your regular vet so they can consult each other via telephone? If not does this vet have any colleagues that have experince with chins that they can contact? I have no experience with this, but I've dealt with a lot of new vets recently. Ask lots of questions, make sure they explain things to you. Good luck with your baby! Please update us later.

Thanks for the advice and luck guys. I just got back from the vet and there are a few things going on. Delilah is pregnant and the vet said she thinks part of it may be pregnancy toxemia. She gave Delilah SubQ fluids, Calcium Gluconate Shot, and a Vitaman B Complex Injection. Delilah also has an abcess in her mouth on the left side, and from what I understood a tooth that needs to be pulled? She called the vets at UT and they said it would be very risky due to her being pregnant. They said she would be fine until January when she has her kits. However, if it gets worse, I WILL be getting a spay/abort and doing it then. She gave me some dextrose to give her if she has another seizure. She also gave me critical care, which, I guess I will be feeding until January? How do I make CC go through a syringue? Also, how much does she need daily? She has lost weight and is at 1.735 lbs. Thanks!