Single vs Pair

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Devi Xiao

I am hoping to do an exotic animal training and management program in the near future, but it has some days with long hours (7:30am-9:30pm) during the week. Other days are 6am-5:30pm. I know that I can give them about 30minutes-1hour most days of the week (not the ones when I get in late) while I'm studying. So on to my questions (because I've given too much background and probably bored you all):

For those of you with single chins, how much time do you spend with them per week to keep them happy?
Would it be better to get a pair now and separate as needed? I have a FN 182, so it would be "easy" to separate them.

Opinions?

Missed my edit time to add this: would it be better to get one first and try and introduce later?

It all depends on the chin. Some are easy to pair and others will not live with others. If you are worried you can always adopt chins together so you don't have to do the intro.

Well, I work full time and go to school. I interact with them every night (when I clean cages and give supplies) and then in the morning before I head off to work. I definitely don't give them as much time as in the summer when I don't attend classes. I have a single male chin and then a pair of females. I think a half hour to hour a night is a good amount of time to spend interacting with a chinchilla. You can spend more time when you have it...

My suggestion would be to get an already bonded same sex pair if you feel you're very busy. That way they have a friend and you don't have to worry about introduction. It's really up to you. I always feel chins do better in pairs, especially if you're away from home a lot. Good luck!

Yes, I'm planning on getting a female pair from Mike Attard this coming June. They're a graduation gift to myself for getting my bachelors. ;p