Shipping Baked Goods

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sesame

I'm an avid hobby baker and would love to share the things I make with friends and family. Especially since the temperature is starting to drop, I think it's a little bit more feasible to ship things.

I was wondering if anyone had any experience with shipping things such as cookies of all sorts, bars, loaves of bread, etc. I know that sturdier desserts will have a higher chance of making it intact... But, any tips to prevent breakage or squishing?

Also, should I be worried about high moisture build-up? Should I look into getting desiccant packets (also, anyone know any stores that carry this?)? I think I would do priority mail (like 2 day mail), but I want to make sure I don't send my sister a moldy box ;)

I don't know much about shipping baked goods...I do know that my mom tried to ship chocolate doughnuts to my brother in Guam once, and they showed up as a crumbled mess lol. They didn't melt, they just got smashed....idk!

I've gotten cookies shipped to me from Florida before, and they arrived just fine, no moisture problems or anything. They weren't chocolate chip though. She had packaged them in saran wrap in groups of 4 and then bubble wrapped around each group. They were sent priority.

I've also gotten candy bars and chocolate chip cookies sent to me when I was at college. They didn't have any problems. So long as you pack the cookies so that they don't bang around a bunch, they come out okay.

I remember reading that a cheap alternative to packing peanuts or bubble wrap is to put air popped popcorn in the box.
I am not a baker at all!! I attempt at Christmas but that is about it.

My grandmother used to use empty Pringles canisters to send cookies to my brother and me at summer camp. Worked wonderfully... you just can't bake huge cookies though.