How can I tell if my Chin is pregnant?

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Takuraktty

I am just getting into breeding and only have one doe and one buck both are over a year old and have been living together in the same cage. They'd never had an issue and get along fine. I don't know though if my female is pregnant or how to know when she will be. I check everyday when I feed and clean, she's not sleeping on her side. What are some other signs?

First, chins are not rabbits. They are not does and bucks. They are dam and sire if there are offspring. If not, they are just male and female.

Second, you'll know if she's pregnant when she has kits. Honestly, that's the absolute 100% most accurate answer anybody on here can give you. If you get an ultrasound they can check for kits that way, but it's not worth the stress on the female unless there's a problem. If you're an experienced breeder, and you're VERY careful, you can palpate in such a way as to tell if there are kits in there when they are large enough to feel. You can try monitoring her weight weekly and watch and see if it goes up, but again, this can be very stressful on a female when she's pregnant.

If I have a male and a female in breeding together, I just assume that she either is pregnant or soon to be pregnant, and I leave her alone. When I see kits, I know for sure.

Alright thanks and sorry, still new to this. I was talking with someone else on another website who called them that. I'll just continue keeping an eye on her.

Some signs are weight gain (towards the end of the pregnancy the chin will look "hippy" because the weight gain looks like it's all in the back end), she may go off her food a bit a few days before giving birth, may lie on her side & generally look a bit fed up.