Chinchilla's at a zoo

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
K

kellyzoo

Hi all,
I manage a small zoo in MD. We recently are having two chin's donated and are working on making them an awesome enclosure.

I'd love to have some advice and tips on how to make the enclosure the best it can be. The space we have is approximately 12 feet tall, 6feet wide and about 4 feet deep. It is made out of galvanized wire and pressure treated wood. It has a roof and a shade tree overhead.

The Chin's will be moved into an air conditioned area in the summer heat.
I'm new to Chin's , so any advice, tips or super cool ideas for an enclosure would be fantastic!

Also, I am trying to find out if they can dig?If so, I will use pavers along the bottom of the enclosure so they cannot get out.

Thanks in advance.

I would make sure they can't access the wood. I understand that you want to make sure it lasts, but they will chew it even through the wire. I could just maybe see about lining it with metal, like a post wrap.

Chins don't really dig per se, they love places to hide, they love to jump and climb. I would put a lot of chin safe branches and rocks in it.

For food a good plain pellet. I'm not sure what's readily available in MD, but Oxbow is good if you can get that. Also hay and water ( bottle or valve system, not a bowl). Chins don't need fruits or vegetables.

They need dust to keep clean.

If it is a male and a female make sure the wire is small enough no babies can escape. Adults need no bigger than 1" x 1" or they can squeeze through.