Buying my first chins

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stormcrow

Hi everybody!

I'm pretty new around here, and I am also pretty new to the wonderfull word of chinchilla's.

Me and my GF live at an appartment in the city, and since she has an allergy to cats and obviously a dog couldn't live here without a garden, we went looking for another pet.
Now, I understand this makes me sound a bit stupid like "omg I ned to haz a pet! lol! gonna get a furry funny critter!" but I assure you that I do not make hastily decisions.

Ofcourse I had allready seen them on animal shows/expo's around the country, and although I always liked their appearance and behaviour, i had never questioned if I could keep them (seeing them still being an "exotic" pet).
Now, we do allready have guinea pigs, we both had hamsters and bunny's as kids and allthough i know they can't be looked upon in the same way, I can tell you that we simply love rodents alltogether and we allready understand basic needs, hygiene, basic communication...
Because, correct me if I'm wrong, but popcorning, nagging (small squeeks), cry for attention, clicking noise when in pain are all "features" both chins and guinea pigs have...
Again, not trying to make too much of a comparison, I know they differ a lot, just saying we love them, learn how to handle them and try to give them a happy live in our home.

The point has come now that we feel we are ready (and have the time and room) for another pet, and the allergy of my gf in mind we thought that a chinchilla wpuld be a brilliant idea.
i started off by reading on the internet. it is not all the truth out there but still a massive chunk of info that I slowly digested and I dare to say that I allready picked up a lot about chins.
i know, practical experience can't be compared to reading, but you need to start somewhere right?