Buying from a breeder

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tgphan31

So I'm still in the process of looking for my first chin, and was wondering how I should approach breeders.

What sorts of questions should I ask them, and what sort of things should I look for when I visit their kits? Any help would be appreciated as I am still very new to the process.

Thanks!

I would say it would depend on what you are looking for. If it is just for a pet, you don't really need to worry about pedigrees and such as long as the parents are healthy and have had no dental issues. For a breeder or show animal you would need to ask about fur quality and pedigree info, not to say if you just want a pet it can't be pedigreed and good quality. Good luck in your search.

When going to a breeders house/ranch you want to make sure that the facilities are clean and the animals appear to be without illness. Most people can give you a general background of their animals. Most breeders should be able (and happy) to answer any question you have but wont know to answer unless you ask.

If it is just for a pet, you don't really need to worry about pedigrees and such as long as the parents are healthy and have had no dental issues.