Trying to prepare

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oxchincerelyxo

PM for pet portraits <3
So a girl I took in not too long ago was housed with a male. I'm guessing that there is at least a great chance she is pregnant, because she has put on quite some weight in the time I've had her...and keeps doing so.

I have a baby safe cage ready and her in it, but I was wondering if/when I should start her on water with cranberry juice? Are there other things that I might have over looked that I should have on hand or be doing? This is my first time with a pregnant mother, but I've had kits before in my home. The one time I had kits I had to hand feed etc. and ended losing one anyways, so I've been down the hard road after the kits have been born, just am trying to be sure that I do the right things before they come (if they do)

Really any info would be helpful! I'm very nervous about this! Wish me luck!

Also, I was told for her to pass them easily her pelvis should be a dime by a dime and a half (someone posted that on my other thread) and when I checked her it was just that. Is that a bad sign? Are there ways to tell if she'll have a bad birthing? I have a vet on call planning for everynight because we don't know when/if it will happen :wacko:

Thanks!

I'd say a dime and a half at least would be good to pass kits easily.

I wouldn't start with giving her any juice. It just isn't something that I think you will need. It would be good to keep some goat's milk handy just in case. (I keep a can or two here just so I can hand feed if necessary.)