So I have to vent about this...

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JennyBug

Sometimes I love too much
I work in a school as a teacher. We are winding down for summer, and we have a work day today. I was sitting in my room, doing some paperwork, and another teacher comes in and asks if I can take care of the chins that the Ag teacher uses as a "project" for his students for the summer. I wasn't sure what the husband would say, so I went down to the room with her and took a look at the chins to see how they were being cared for and whether or not they would be okay staying at the school with feeding and cleaning. Here is a list of what I found:
1. Cage with a plastic bottom (with a small hole already chewed in it) and plastic shelves (held up by a paint stirrer because the girls had chewed through them) that looked like it had never been scrubbed down
2. Food that looked like Trix cereal
3. No timothy hay
4. No wood to chew on (a couple of empty bird toys)
5. A filthy, disgusting water bottle filled with old water with a nasty stopper to drink from (covered in hair, dust, etc.)
6. Two very dirty chins

I spoke with the Ag teacher, but he said that they were the students' responsibility (they feed and water them). I explained to him that they could easily chew out of their cage, and he said that they had already gotten out once and found some motor oil before they were recovered (maybe that's why they're filthy). Needless to say, they are now both sitting on a desk in a cat carrier.