Open Wound Help - Keeps re-opening

• Thread starter GreaseLightning
  • Start date
Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
G

GreaseLightning

Hey all, newbie here with a question. My hedgehog had a small scabby-thing that I picked off and washed up, thinking it was no big deal. Well, she apparently didn't like the scent of the soap I used (it was unscented, but you know) and she literally tried to claw the scent out of her skin.

Well then she had this big open wound on her throat and I took her to the vet, who gave her some anti-biotics, lick-guard, and chlorehexadine wash. Well the lick-guard makes it worse (only tried that once), she's finished with her week's worth of antibiotics, and now she keeps re-opening her wound and has created a new one.

I stopped the clorehexadine for a few days, thinking maybe she didn't like the scent of that either, but it doesn't seem to matter, she claws at it anyway.

Any ideas on how to get her to stop clawing? I've trimmed her nails but she can actually reach the wounds with her mouth, too. It's not like I can put a little e-collar on her, and I'm pretty sure she'd rip a bandage off.

Any suggestions on how I can get her to leave her wounds alone so it'll heal?

I've taken away her wheel (due to the placement of her wound and the nature of it's poopy-ness I was afraid it would increase infection) and try to let her run around my room more for exercise. She's a little grumpy from all the antibiotic injections and washing but otherwise she seems like she's fine.

But I'm terrified she'll get an infection soon since she won't leave it alone! Any advice?