Explain this to me, if you would

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JennyBug

Sometimes I love too much
OK, so today has not been the best of days (except for the fact that I got to clean my cages). This is kind of long, so please bear with me!

I'm a seventh grade English teacher at a school in Southern Indiana. I coach, and I chaperone dances. I have regular contact with both students and parents both inside the school building and outside. I have received many compliments regarding how polite, caring, and nice I am from administrators, parents, coworkers, and even my students and players. I'm not trying to brag on myself, but I feel that I am a very polite person who gets along well with my coworkers, students, and their parents.

Now, to supplement my income (and to give me something to do during the summer) I picked up a part time job at a liquor store (don't worry, it's nowhere NEAR the school where I work). For the first 6 months I worked there, I had no problems with anyone, and as far as I could tell, no one had any problems with me. Today I got a phone call, and my boss said he had to let me go because of the amount of complaints he had received about my being rude. I was shocked. I always smile, say "yes, ma'am, no sir", and offer to help them. I joke with them, laugh with them, and I always tell them "thank you, and have a good day." Apparently, according to the store owner, something about me just makes people view me as rude and abrasive.

Here is my question: how can I get such opposing opinions? On the one hand, I have people telling me I'm very nice and polite, and on the other I have people saying they won't even come into the store when I'm there.