Dealing with kids

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JennyBug

Sometimes I love too much
For those who don't know, I'm a seventh grade English teacher. I deal with 12 - 13-year-olds every day, not to mention the fact that I coach the 8th grade basketball team.

I wanted to ask you parents out there a question: how does dealing with your own kids differ from dealing with other parents' kids? My husband and I are getting to the point in our lives of thinking of having children, but honestly, working around kids every day is becoming the greatest form of birth control ever! I don't know if it's the difference between how I was raised and how students now are raised, but the attitude, disrespect, and overall apathy toward the future that I see every day is frightening.

Any thoughts on what might be going on with these kids today? Is it just me?

It is a whole different story when they are "your" kids. You have raised them, you understand them, you know them and you have this crazy sick desire to protect them from all harm be it physical or mental.
I have step kids and they are not raised they way i was raised or how i am raising my son and i find it hard to deal with them sometimes. I try & remember it is not their fault that their mom is a useless and their home situation is undesirable.....so i try and make their lives as normal as I can when they are here and i do expect respect. if i dont get it i take it up with their father!