Chin not acting like himself :(

Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum

Help Support Chinchilla & Hedgehog Pet Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

veronicaaa

Hello, this is my first time posting here so I’m not really sure how it works here but I think I would need some help with one of my chins (Ray) because I noticed he started behaving strangely (?) and it’s starting to worry me.

I don’t know how much information I should provide but..Me and my sister have two chins, brothers, both around 2 years old. They used to get along just fine, they cuddled and played together although sometimes they got a bit aggressive and fought but trimming their whiskers always helped and they went back to normal. They had around same size and weight, but it always changed during summer when they got leaner and during winter when both gained a bit of weight.

Everything started about a month ago after we moved to a new house. My sister’s been taking care of them because I go to university and stay in dorms so I haven’t been with them a lot lately. But I got back and noticed that one of the chins Ray has lost significantly more weight than usual while the other one, Fufu, seemed much bigger. I checked Ray out but other than the weight loss and weakness, he seemed okay. His ear were cold and up, his teeth seemed fine, no fur ring, no watery eyes, no salivating or heavy breathing and he happily took a dust bath too. It didn’t make any sense to me because they both like and eat hay and some treats occasionally.